### KIM RICHEY MAKES YEP ROC RECORDS LABEL DEBUT WITH THORN IN MY HEART

## SEVENTH STUDIO ALBUM OUT APRIL 16 PRODUCED BY NEILSON HUBBARD

# FEATURES GUEST APPEARANCES FROM JASON ISBEL, TRISHA YEARWOOD, CARL BROEMEL (MY MORNING JACKET) AND PAT SANSONE (WILCO)

#### SPRING TOUR TO BE ANNOUNCED

"Richey's intimate simplicity makes for compelling listening."—Los Angeles Times

"Richey's subdued vignettes about loss and broken love possess no shortage of enduring charm."—Paste

"Kim Richey is a gifted, rootsy songwriter who may not have to wait much longer for the big break she so richly deserves."—Time Out New York

"Richey has won raves for her sweetly alluring, folk-friendly brand of country..." —NPR "World Café"

Two-time Grammy-nominated Nashville-based singer/songwriter Kim Richey, who "writes some of the most beguiling melodies and freshest chord changes of her generation" (Washington Post), and "has built a career on blurring genre boundaries and confounding listeners' expectations" (Acoustic Guitar), will make her Yep Roc Records label debut April 16 with the release of her seventh studio album, Thorn In My Heart.

Recorded at Mr. Lemon's Studio in Nashville, Thorn In My Heart was produced by Neilson Hubbard (Garrison Starr, Glen Phillips, Matthew Ryan) and features 12 original compositions. The follow-up to 2010's Wreck Your Wheels, the album features guest appearances from Jason Isbel, Trisha Yearwood, Carl Broemel of My Morning Jacket and Pat Sansone of Wilco, among many others.

Richey, a former professional chef, got her first record deal at 37 and has garnered success as a songwriter, co-writing two number one hits; the Grammy-nominated "Believe Me Baby I Lied" for Trisha Yearwood and "Nobody Wins" for Radney Foster. Other songwriting contributions

include songs for Dixie Chicks, Jim Lauderdale, Brooks & Dunn and Patty Loveless. Her vocals also appear on albums by Ryan Adams and Shawn Colvin.

Her self-titled debut was released in 1995, followed by Bitter Sweet (1997/Mercury Nashville), Glimmer (1999/label), Rise (2002/label), The Collection (2004/label), Chinese Boxes (2007/label), and Wreck Your Wheels (2010/Thirty Tigers).

### KIM RICHEY, THORN IN MY HEART

- 1. Thorn In My Heart
- 2. London Town
- 3. Something More
- 4. Breakaway Speed
- 5. Angel's Share
- 6. Come On
- 7. Love Is
- 8. I Will Wait
- 9. I'm Going Down
- 10. No Means Yes
- 11. Take Me To The Other Side
- 12. Everything's Gonna Be Good

For more information, please contact Lauren Branson at lauren@yeprocmusicgroup.com