Tweets by @yeproc
Grant-Lee Phillips The Narrows Yep Roc Records

Grant-Lee Phillips To Release “The Narrows” March 18 on Yep Roc Records


California-born and now Nashville-based acclaimed singer-songwriter Grant-Lee Phillips, who American Songwriter hails as “a national treasure,” will release The Narrows March 18, 2016 on Yep Roc Records. The album, his eighth solo release, is available for pre-order with an instant download of “Cry Cry,” which premiered at American Songwriter.

Recorded at Dan Auerbach’s Easy Eye Studio in Nashville, the 13-song set is Phillips’ first since his move from Los Angeles, his home of some thirty years, to Music City in 2013. “It held the promise of a quieter life,” Phillips explains, “something resembling my own rural upbringing in the San Joaquin Valley. And the people of the mid-south reminded me of home – my dad being from Arkansas, my mom from Oklahoma. And the soundtrack of my boyhood was so often tethered to Nashville.”

Produced by Phillips (guitar/vocals) and recorded as a trio with Jerry Roe (drums) and Lex Price (electric and upright bass), The Narrows is bathed in a woody, warmly reverberating sonic signature. Marked by longing and a resolute sense of purpose, the nexus of romance, recollection, historic struggles and tragedies, and peerless craftsmanship—coupled with the hopes, fears, and isolation that accompany transition—formed the backdrop for the album.

“This set of songs,” Phillips observes, “seem to pivot between the personal and historical—like a lens, focusing in and out. The Creek and the Cherokee, of which I’m descendent, called this land home before the removal. I’m captivated by the stories and the energy here.”

A singer, songwriter, guitarist, multi-instrumentalist, actor, film composer and visual artist, Phillips began his career as frontman of Grant-Lee Buffalo. Named “male vocalist of the year” in 1995 by Rolling Stone, USA Today called him a “soulful balladeer” and one “who continues to solidify his place in the upper tier of Americana.”


January 13-17 – 30A Writers Festival – Santa Rosa Beach, FL
January 19 – The Hideaway – St. Petersburg, FL
January 20 – Café Eleven – St. Augustine, FL
January 21 – Eddie’s Attic – Decatur, GA
January 22 – The Evening Muse – Charlotte, NC
January 26 – Southern Café & Music Hall – Charlottesville, VA
January 27 – Ashland Coffee & Tea  – Ashland, VA
January 28 – Jammin’ Java – Vienna, VA
February 4 – Ardmore Music Hall – Ardmore, PA
February 5 – Rockwood Music Hall – New York, NY
February 6 – Center for the Arts in Natick – Natick, MA
February 8 – The Pittsburgh Winery – Pittsburgh, PA
February 9 – The Ark – Ann Arbor, MI
February 10 – Music Box Supper Club – Cleveland, OH
February 11 – City Winery – Chicago, IL
February 16 – Old Rock House – St. Louis, MO
February 17 – Folk Alliance International – Kansas City, KS
February 18 – Folk Alliance International – Kansas City, KS
April 1 – McCabe’s Guitar Shop – Santa Monica, CA
April 18 – All’1.35 – Cantu, Italy
April 19 – Teatro della Concordia – San Costanzo, Italy
April 20 – Bravo Café – Bologna, Italy
April 21 – Orpheum Extra – Graz, Austria
April 22 – B72 – Vienna, Austria
April 23 – TBD – Hamburg, Germany
April 24 – Vega Jnr. – Copenhagen, Denmark
April 25 – Bitterzoet – Amsterdam, Holland
April 27 – Pop Up Du Label – Paris, France
April 28 – Borderline – London, England
April 29 – Louisiana – Bristol, England
April 30 – Deaf Institute – Manchester, England
May 1 – Whelans – Dublin, Ireland
The Narrows Tracklisting:
1.  Tennessee Rain
2.  Smoke And Sparks
3.  Moccasin Creek
4.  Cry Cry
5.  Holy Irons
6.  Yellow Weeds
7. Loaded Gun
8. Rolling Pin
9.  Taking On Weight In Hot Springs
10.  Just Another River Town
11.  No Mercy In July
12.  San Andreas Fault
13.  Find My Way