Tweets by @yeproc
February 28th, 2024

Kim Richey Announces New Album ‘Every New Beginning’ – Out May 24


Kim Richey Shares First Single From Upcoming Album Every New Beginning

Due out on May 24th; Hear “Floating On The Surface” today

February 28, 2024 – Nashville, TN – Over a pulsating rhythm section and moody guitar arpeggios, the widely-beloved voice of songwriter’s songwriter Kim Richey delivers the opening line to her first new music in four years: “So here we go, another day on the water / The sun is shining but we never dive in.” The song is “Floating On The Surface” and it’s the first single to be released from Richey’s upcoming LP, Every New Beginning—due out on May 24th on Yep Roc Records. Featuring ten songs spanning from more recent writes to decade-old puzzle pieces, finally finding a home on Richey’s 10th studio album, Every New Beginning highlights not just the songs of a master tunesmith—some co-written with fellow greats like Aaron Lee Tasjan and Brian Wright—but a career-defining performance from the voice which Brandi Carlile has cited as formative in crafting her own style. 

“Floating On The Surface” was written and demoed with Roger Alan Nichols, and to the surprise of even the song’s creators, it never went past that initial phase. “This song is different from all the other songs on the album in that we decided to use the demo,” remembers Richey. “Roger Nichols and I wrote this around a cool guitar line that Roger came up with. He engineered and played everything and I sang all the parts and played percussion,” she laughs, citing the latter as “her secret favorite thing.” Sonically, that cool guitar line drives the music behind “Floating On The Surface.” 

“We tried re-recording it with the band while tracking songs for this record.  We tried replacing the fake drums with real drums. We messed around with the vocals. Finally, producer Doug Lancio decided we weren’t going to beat the demo,” Richey says. “Sometimes a demo has some sort of magic sauce that you just can’t recreate.”  

Fans can stream or purchase “Floating On The Surface” today at this link and pre-order or pre-save Every New Beginning ahead of its May release right here. Fans who pre-order the project on vinyl have the option of Clear Coke Bottle Vinyl or a Limited Edition (250 worldwide pressing!) Translucent Orange Vinyl that includes an autographed handwritten note from Richey. She hits the road again in March for West Coast and Midwest shows before heading across the Atlantic in May. Tour dates can be found below or at

About Every New Beginning: Due out May 24, 2024, Every New Beginning features ten tracks, written or co-written by Richey with a coterie of characters, over the course of several years, and produced by critically lauded multi-instrumentalist and producer Doug Lancio (Patty Griffin, John Hiatt). It was recorded at Skinny Elephant studio in Nashville with engineer Dylan Alldredge in August 2023 with musical assistance from longtime collaborators like Dan Mitchell and Neilson Hubbard—who produced Richey’s 2013 album Thorn in My Heart—and newer friends like Nashville neighbor Aaron Lee Tasjan, who lends his irrepressibly sparkly musicality to the proceedings. Every New Beginning manages to continue the throughline of Richey’s nearly 30-year career while simultaneously adding a new chapter. The songs represent the full spectrum of the Ohio native’s gifts as both a revered songwriter who can leap from melancholy to mirthful in a single couplet and owner of one of music’s truly celestial voices.  

About Kim Richey: From her critically acclaimed self-titled 1995 debut to Long Way Back… The Songs of Glimmer in 2020, Richey has consistently impressed listeners, garnered accolades, and attracted famous fans with her deft songwriting and crystalline vocals, both of which have made her an in-demand collaborator. Richey has penned No.1 hits for Radney Foster (“Nobody Wins”) and Trisha Yearwood (“Believe Me Baby (I Lied)”)—the latter earning her a Grammy nomination for Best Country Song—as well as songs for Mary Chapin Carpenter, Patty Loveless, and Brooks and Dunn, among others. Her voice has graced scores of recordings, providing peerless harmonies, including Jason Isbell’s watershed Southeastern, Trisha Yearwood’s Everybody Knows, Heartbreaker by Ryan Adams, Reba McEntire’s Starting Over, and Has Been by Capt. Kirk himself, William Shatner. Most recently Richey co-headlined a night of Brandi Carlile’s Girls Just Wanna Weekend Festival in Mexico, sharing the stage with a wide range of artists including Carlile—who cites Richey as a formative influence—Brandy Clark, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Annie Lennox, Allison Russell, and Sarah McLachlan. She was also a special guest at Jason Isbell’s annual Ryman Auditorium residency, sitting in to reprise her role for the anniversary performance of Southeastern. Richey hits the road in the US and Europe this spring in support of Every New Beginning. For more information, visit or follow her at and Instagram @kimrichey

Catch Kim Richey On Tour:

March 13 – Santa Ynez, CA – Tales From The Tavern

March 16 – Santa Monica, CA – McCabes

March 22 – Bellingham, WA – Mount Baker Theatre

March 23 – Lake Oswego, OR – Parrott House Concerts

March 24 – Bremerton, WA – Concerts In The Woods

April 21 – Athens, OH – Templeton-Blackburn Alumni Memorial Auditorium

May 3 – Columbus, OH – Natalie’s Grandview Music Hall & Kitchen

May 4 – Peninsula, OH – GAR Hall

May 15 – Camden, UK – Green Note

May 16 – Swindon, UK – The Old Stables, Cricklade

May 18 – London, UK – Half Moon, Putney

May 19 – Bristol, UK – Bristol Folk House

May 20 – Aberdeen, UK – The Blue Lamp

May 23 – Glasgow, UK – Glad Cafe

May 24 – Newcastle upon Tyne, UK – The Cluny 2

May 25 – York, UK – Newbald Village Hall

May 26 – Birmingham, UK – Birmingham Kitchen Garden

June 13 – Auburn, AL – Sundilla Acoustic Concert Series

June 14 – Decatur, GA – Eddie’s Attic

June 15 – Charlotte, NC – The Evening Muse

For all tour dates and ticket information, please visit


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,