Tweets by @yeproc
October 21st, 2014

Master Mix Now Available on CD/LP


Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell is now available on CD+LP with exclusive merch bundles only available at the Yep Roc Store. Bundle the Master Mix CD/LP with the official Master Mix hat and save 15% on your entire order.

Master Mix embodies the genre-defying, experimental spirit that defined Russell’s work. Living in the East Village from the ‘70s until his untimely death in 1992 at age 40 from AIDS-related causes, Russell moved effortlessly between the city’s various music scenes, recording disco beats alongside Nicky Siano one night, and the next, crafting slow, haunting tracks in his apartment with his cello and idiosyncratic warbling voice. The New Yorker called his work “stranded between lands real and imagined: the street and the cornfield; the soft bohemian New York and the hard Studio 54 New York; the cheery bold strokes of pop and the liberating possibilities of abstract art.” Through his collaborations, he earned the admiration of artists like Allen Ginsberg, David Byrne and Philip Glass, who said of Russell’s music: “It does not submit to formula, but subverts the formula.


RedHot_bundle_preorder_600x250 (2)

Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell Tracklist:

1.     Jose Gonzalez – “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”

2.     Lonnie Holley – “Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun (Interlude)”

3.     Robyn – “Tell You”

4.     Hot Chip – “Go Bang”

5.     Sufjan Stevens – “A Little Lost”

6.     Lonnie Holley – “In The Light Of The Miracle (Interlude)”

7.     Richard Reed Parry, Little Scream, Sam Amidon, Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld – “Keeping Up”

8.     Liam Finn, Ernie Brooks & Peter Zummo – “This Love Is Crying”

9.     Rubblebucket & Nitemoves – “Eli”

10. The Revival Hour – “Hiding Your Present from You”

11. Sam Amidon – “Lucky Cloud”

12. Devendra Banhart – “Losing My Taste For The Night Life”

13. Phosphorescent – “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”

14. Blood Orange – “Is It All Over My Face & Tower Of Meaning”

15. Scissor Sisters – “That’s Us/Wild Combination”

16. VEGA INTL. – “Arm Around You”

17. Oh Mercy – “Planted A Thought”

18. Lonnie Holley – “Hop On Down (Interlude)”

19. Cults – “Being It”

20. Richard Reed Parry – “Just A Blip”

21. Glen Hansard – “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”

22. Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”

23. The Autumn Defense – “Oh Fernanda Why”

24. Alexis Taylor – “Our Last Night Together”

25. Lonnie Holley – “The Deer In The Forest (Interlude)”

26. Redding Hunter – “Close My Eyes”

Tags: , , , ,