Tweets by @yeproc
Sloan by Calm Elliot-Armstrong
July 13th, 2022

Sloan Announce 13th Studio Album ‘Steady’ Out October 21


Canadian indie-rock royalty Sloan announce their 13th studio album, Steady, set for an October 21 release on Yep Roc Records in North America. Their first new album since 2018’s 12, Steady will coincide with the 30th anniversary of their debut album Smeared, which came out in October 1992. Fans can pre-order/pre-save Steady here.

Today’s album announcement is marked by the release of the first single “Spend The Day,” a classically charismatic Sloan song that offers a break from an often overwhelming reality by creating your own. Written by guitarist/vocalist, Patrick Pentland, who describes the track as “an invitation to join me when I was maybe at my lowest. Hide away with me from everything for a while.” Listen to “Spend The Day” here.

Sloan are one of the rare bands to make it to their 13th album with all four original members who are equally prolific songwriters and all still working at the top of their respective games, sounding utterly ageless in the process. The album title is reflective of the band’s impressive 30-year feat, bassist and vocalist Chris Murphy explains, “They say if you want to go fast go alone but if you want to go far go together. I don’t know if there are many other bands you can name that are still making records with their original line up 30 years in. Look it up!”

Steady Tracklisting

1. Magical Thinking

2. Spend The Day

3. She Put Up With What She Put Down

4. Human Nature

5. Scratch The Surface

6. Panic On Runnymede

7. Dream It All Over Again

8. Nice Work If You Can Get It

9. Simply Leaving

10. Close Encounters

11. I Dream Of Sleep

12. Keep Your Name Alive

Tags: , ,