Tweets by @yeproc
Trailer Bride Yep Roc Records

Trailer Bride’s 1996 Self-Titled Album Now Available Digitally


Trailer Bride’s 1996 self-titled record is a long-lost relic of the blooming Chapel Hill, North Carolina music scene of the ‘90s. In honor of the album’s 25th anniversary, the full album is available digitally for the first time ever! Listen here.

“They’re impossible to describe, but whatever you wanna call it, they sound really good.”

– No Depression (1997)

Superchunk, Polvo, Archers of Loaf and other alternative darlings were leading Chapel Hill’s indie rock movement while Southern Culture on the Skids were pushing the alt-country genre forward. Then comes Trailer Bride who combined both of those worlds with a gothic, lo-fi sound that centers around Melissa Swingle’s atmospheric vocals and cryptic lyrics.

Swingle started Trailer Bride following the demise of her band Pussy Teeth and would later go on to form the indie rock duo The Moaners with Laura King (Bat Fangs, Speed Stick), but the dark, southern sound that defines Trailer Bride’s debut record provides a mystifying listening experience a quarter-century later. 


1. Sorry Times
2. Mardi Gras
3. Let Mama Drive
4. Rouge
5. Arrowheads
6. Road to Canaan
7. Trailer Bride
8. Maudlin
9. Landyacht Take Me Home
10. Chatham Co. Militia
11. Sway
12. Flying Saucer
13. Trains at Night