Tweets by @yeproc
Los Straightjackets
June 6th, 2012

Watch the “Space Mosquito” music video from Los Straitjackets’ upcoming album JET SET now from Guitar World.


via Guitar World

Exclusive Video Premiere: Los Straitjackets — “Space Mosquito”
by Damian Fanelli

Here’s the exclusive premiere of “Space Mosquito,” a brand-new track by Los Straitjackets, aka “America’s instrumentalists.” “Space Mosquito” is from the band’s new guitar-driven album, Jet Set, which will be released August 7.

Jet Set was produced by the band’s longtime friend, Janne Haavisto, the former drummer of Finland’s Laika & The Cosmonauts. Haavisto put melody at the forefront of this collection of 14 new tracks, and those melodies are backed by an amalgam of sweeping percussion, lush horn arrangements and distorted strings.

I think it’s remarkable that this far into our career, we could do something that I’d consider our best work,” said Los Straitjackets guitarist Eddie Angel (who also happens to be a former blogger).

Jet Set features guest appearances by Jimmy Vivino and The Basic Cable Horns and Finnish actress/musician Irina Bjorklund.

It’s been 18 years since Nashville-bred Los Straitjackets first donned their lucha libre masks. Since then, they’ve toured the universe and elsewhere, released 11 studio albums and two live albums. Guitarist Daddy-O Grande (Danny Amis) was diagnosed with multiple myeloma in 2010. After he underwent a successful stem cell transplant in 2011, the band played a benefit show for Amis in Los Angeles that featured guest appearances by Conan O’Brien, Johnny Rivers and more. You can check out photos from that show HERE.

The good news is Amis’ guitar can be heard all over Jet Set!

Los Straitjackets Spring Tour Dates:
TH 6/7  Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live  TIX
FR 6/8  New York, NY @ City Winery  TIX
SA 6/9 Washington DC @ The Howard Theater  TIX
WE 6/13  Nashville, TN @ Mercury Lounge  TIX
TH 6/14 Lexington, KY @ Cosmic Charlie’s  TIX
FR 6/15  Cleveland, OH @ The Grog Shop  TIX
SA 6/16  Johnstown, PA @ The Oilhouse  TIX

Jet Set track listing:
01. Crime Scene
02. Yeah Yeah Yeah
03. New Siberia
04. Aerostar
05. Brooklyn Slide
06. Jet Set
07. Low Tide
08. Walking Down 3d Street
09. Bobsleddin’
10. Wrong Way Inn
11. Space Mosquito
12. Sardinian Holiday
13. Mr. Pink
14. Pop Rocks & Coke
15. Für Sophia

Tags: , , , ,